Missing It

May 18, 2006

I am unfortunately going to miss my girlfriend's graduation tonight. I don't quite understand why this is happening. She, of course, understands that it is not my fault, but it pains me that I am not able to share such a momentous occasion in her life with her. But God is wise, and he has seen fit for me to be here tonight.

While I'm here, I'll be spending plenty of time reading blogs, checking theologyweb, and reading the books I ordered. Delivered today were "The Face of New Testament Studies edited by McKnight and someone else, and also "New Testament Theology: Many Witnesses, One Gospel" or something like that. I hope I will find them interesting and illuminating.

Arriving tomorrow should be the first two volumes of "Death Note," a manga about which I have heard nothing but good things. The basic details of the plot are as follows: A boy finds a book, and discovers that whomever's name he writes in there dies. So he decides to start using it to kill criminals, and all sorts of chaos ensues, I think. I hope it lives up to my expectations.

I was also hoping to get my tv and ps2 in the hospital room so I could finish up Kingdom Hearts 2 in pride mode and get that special ending, or maybe finish up Castlevania: Lament of Innocence, which my friend lent me.

As for the medical things which are ensuing: I am on IV antibiotics and doing aerosols. I am going to have a special head scan tomorrow to see if anything's wrong in my sinuses or whatever, but the ear, nose, and throat doctor thinks everything is fine. I am really hoping they find out what is causing this bleeding, and that they will eliminate it. The pulmonologist also told me that a fungus is growing in my lungs. They know this by the sputum culture they did yesterday. She says they're not going to treat it until they know which it is for sure. I had one of these in August, and the medicine they gave me for it gave me the most terrible joint aches. I hope I don't have to endure that one again.

Anyway, my few and faithful readers, be blessed, and….

CONGRATULATIONS CLASS OF 2006!

4 Responses to “Missing It”


  1. I’ll be sure to say a prayer for you. Hope you get to feeling better.

  2. Ron Says:

    Let me know how you like the books.

  3. Barbara A. Telleria Says:

    This post has made me feel quite sad for you. Is there anything I can do to cheer you up? I mean, I realise that I will not take the place of books and KH2…

    I hope to see you sometime soon. Happy, healthy, and fit. And I will continue to pray for you. Always count on it.

  4. Jonathan Says:

    Hi Rob,

    Hope you’re feeling better soon. Keep the updates coming when you’re up to it. Your international audience want to know!

    God bless


Leave a Reply

