Hospital Life

May 21, 2006

Let me preface this post by expressing my thanks for all those at home and abroad who have me in their thoughts and prayers. May our Lord and God bless you richly. I also want to say that though my state of health may sound bleak, it is not really that bad at all.

I was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis when I was six months old. Until I was sixteen, I led a pretty regular life. Most "regular" CFers spend much of their time in the hospital – i spent none. Then in May/June of 2005, I started coughing up blood. This is my fourth hospitalization for the same problem. I really am a very healthy CF kid, so I hope it doesn't seem that I am too gravely ill from my posts.

What's frustrating is that I'm not quite sure what's causing this, and I don't know if the doctors know either. Today we complained a bit 'cause of miscommunication. I was just told that the blood is coming from my nose, not my lungs. But the ear/nose/throat doctor said he didn't think it was coming from there! What's the deal? Is it my lungs, my nose, my pre-trib eschatology class? 😉 Anyway.

On to hospital life. I have had several visitors. My girlfriend has come the past three days, and she might come tomorrow. I definitely smile a lot more when she's around. I've also had other visitors. I hope those people realize how much of a blessing and encouragement they are when they visit people in the hospital. When I get better, I am going to try to make it to my church visitation and encourage others who are trapped in these places. Okay, maybe I shouldn't say trapped. It really is important to get help when you need it. But it's just frustrating.

I've also been watching some movies on the movie channel. Tonight I'll hopefully catch Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I saw it in theatres, but I'm sure I'll enjoy it again. I saw some of National Treasure and Spiderman-2 today as well.

That's all for now.  

2 Responses to “Hospital Life”

  1. Barbara A. Telleria Says:

    Nice to hear that you are fairly all right, Robert. I take it that you are in MCH? I might visit. I don’t know.

  2. Rob Says:

    That’s correct. And I am sorry to say I have no idea what “it” is. 😦


Leave a Reply

