Recent Reading

June 1, 2006

Well, I've been getting to do a lot of reading at work, so I'm making my way through The Face of New Testament Studies. After getting over the first fairly rough two sections, things got much better when I arrived at the section Jesus. I read that yesterday at today. I thoroughly enjoyed McKnight's chapter on the recent Jesus research. I'm prompted to read Meier's work on Jesus, it sounds fairly good.

Today I read a great chapter on the place of miracles in the historical Jesus works, and how its sadly shoved off to the bits around the edg (as Wright would say) in most studies. To round off the section on Jesus, a wonderfully written essay on the gospel of John by Craig L. Blomberg was included. It's too my shame that I haven't read much Blomberg, except for a chapter in Craig's "Reasonable Faith." I really must read his books on the historicity of the Synoptics and his more recent book on John.

I read a little more of I. Howard Marshall's New Testament Theology. Unfortunately, I arrived at Barnes and Noble two nights ago searching for Death Note volume 6 only to find that it has not been published yet! Of course, I could read it online, but I don't want to support those ripping off the publishers witht he license. Gah. But I really want to read it!

I also started Aldous Huxley's "Brave New World." It is one of my three required reading for summer books, so I might as well do those now.

That's all for now! 

3 Responses to “Recent Reading”

  1. Andy Says:

    Ah, Brave New World. An important book. Neil Postman in Amusing Ourselves to Death says that our society is more in danger of becoming like that dystopia than like the one in 1984. Two different ways of maintaining control over a population. Veeeery interesting.

  2. Ron Says:

    Blomberg’s work on the Synoptics is awesome, but I have had a hard time reading his John book/commentary.

  3. Kyle Says:

    Sounds like good stuff. I liked the chapter on miracles in E.P. Sanders’ The Historical Figure of Jesus.


Leave a Reply

