Flesh it out

June 28, 2006

This morning I decided to take my God Crucified by Richard Bauckham to work with me. I read it a few months ago, but I wanted to refresh. And you know what? I wish the guy would just publish those numerous fuller treatments. What’s he busy with, anyway? Family? Friends? Work? They are all trivial compared to the detailed works I need about first century Jewish monotheism and christology.

Eh. Anyway, more realistically, I can’t wait for his latest book, due out September of this year.

Jesus and the Eyewitnesses

5 Responses to “Flesh it out”

  1. Kyle Says:

    I think I’ve got some book he wrote on eschatology on my shelf, but I’ve not read him.

  2. Rob Says:

    Oh man, you gotta read God Crucified. I just finished it today again. Very good book, just not long enough. But maybe its brevity is something nice and fresh too, especially while I’m reading a 700 hundred something page New Testament Theology.

  3. Dan Merriman Says:

    Have you read Hurtado’s “Lord, Jesus Christ?” Not all that sure we really need another comprehensive treatment, though RB is always good.

  4. Rob Says:

    I haven’t read Hurtado’s Lord Jesus Christ, though it is definitely on my “list”(you know those books that you don’t really write down but want to read and know you’ll get to sometime in the future).

    And I was wishing for the fuller treatment because I wanted to see him interact with other christological NT passages, and to invoke other OT cases besides Deutero-Isaiah. However, a friend told me that in correspondence Bauckham said that the thing has spun off into several different treatments, so I don’t know when we’ll be getting any of those.

  5. Rob Says:

    Oh, and thank you for commenting. Hope you enjoyed the blog. Blessings to you.


Leave a Reply

