Loyalty

July 2, 2006

christian flag

Just a parting thought, before I head out on a 13 hour bus ride.

I was thinking about our pledges. Everyday at school, we get up, say the pledge to the american flag, then the pledge to the christian flag, and then the pledge to the bible. Is this the right order?

Shouldn’t loyalty to the kingdom of God come first, before we swear our loyalty to any earthly kingdom? Not that I have anything against patriotism (I love America and all the freedoms I enjoy), but at least to me it seems that as Christians our citizenship is of heaven (not in a sense of escaping this world, but in the sense of belonging to the world to come), and that any allegiance that I give should be first to the kingdom of God, and then to my place of residence.

But maybe I’m just being nit-picky about the order of pledging, and nobody really means it in the way I made it out. Whatever.
Anyway, for all of you Americans, have a happy 4th of July!

3 Responses to “Loyalty”

  1. Kyle Says:

    Um. You say a pledge to a flag? You might start by radically questioning the whole deal. 😀

  2. Mike Says:

    Hehe. Word to Kyle.

    I don’t even pledge anymore, to be honest. I think it’s silly.

  3. Barbara A. Telleria Says:

    While I do not think it is silly (sorry) I do have to admit that the same thought (about the order of the pledges) has previously crossed my mind. These words are stated without much attention to what is being said; the meanings just become empty.


Leave a Reply

