I’m baaaaack

July 8, 2006

Well, I have returned from my week at North Carolina. Thank you all for your comments.

I decided to stick with WordPress, ’cause I’m lazy.

I finished the Lemony Snicket book and Re-Inventing Jesus. They were both very enjoyable.

So let me talk about the camp:

1) Things I enjoyed

–  I had awesome cabin mates this year. One was a wrestler dude (if I’m ever as ripped as he is, I’ll be happy), one was a hilarious red-head, and the other two were cool too.

– My counselor was pretty cool this year. He was a blackbelt in some form of martial arts, so we got to talk about that and it was cool.

–  I actually did “the hike” this year. The hike involves going down to this waterfall that is usually beautiful, they say. But it wasn’t this year ’cause it hasn’t been raining much. So after standing there for about five minutes, we went back to the camp. That’s where it gets very strenuous. Every other year I had pulled my “Cystic Fibrosis” card and gotten out of going (last year I spent the time in the coffee shop reading The New Testament and the People of God), but this year I went through it, and with the help of a friend I made it. So that was an accomplishment for me, and I praise Christ I made it through.

– I had some challenging sermons on things I need to get right in my life.

2) Things I didn’t like

–  Some of the preaching was blah. The constant mention of “going to heaven” and all that just seems so strange when compared to first century Christianity.

– The yelling in the preaching and the annoying “amening” really got on my nerves. It got to the point where it just got very obnoxious. I guess it’s ’cause I”m not from a church environment where there’s a lot of ‘amens’ being shouted all the time.

– The strange exegesis of some of the texts, which I won’t describe here.

Overall, it was my best trip to the Wilds that I’ve ever taken.  The showers and the cabins didn’t even bother me that much. Maybe I’m getting tougher or something.

4 Responses to “I’m baaaaack”

  1. Shirley Says:

    Enjoyed reading this post. Strange thing, I suppose, but I’m from a church that has lots of amens. I understand that Pentecostal preachers get a bit nervous if they don’t hear enough of them.

    We’re all different, I suppose, and our early training determines much of our reactions.

    Blessings as you find your way through life.

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  2. Barbara A. Telleria Says:

    Welcome back, Rob.

  3. Kyle Says:

    Sounds like I might have been challenged myself, for some very similar and for some very different reasons…

    :0)


Leave a Reply

