Mr. Metzger and my Buddy Bart

July 22, 2006

Since I know you’ve all been just dying to know what I’ve been reading lately, I’ll let you know: The Text of the New Testament: It’s Transmission, Corruption, and Restoration by Bruce M. Metzger and Bart Ehrman. Besides a rather lengthy description of the plant from which we get papyri, I’ve been enjoying it. đŸ™‚

A very humorous excerpt from the section in which the authors describe how scribes, who were not allowed to speak, would communicate with each other:

Though scribes were forbidden to talk to one another in the scriptorium, the more irrepressible found devious way sto communicate with each other. One such means was to jot remarks on the margin of the page being transcribed and to show it to one’s neighbor. The margins of the ninth-century Latin manuscript of Cassiodorus’ commentary on the Psalms contain a variety of commonplace remarks written in Irish. For example: “It is coldtoday.” “That is natural; it is winter.” “The lamp gives a bad light.” “It is time fo rus to begin to do some work.” “Well, this vellum is certainly heavy!” “Well, I call this vellum thin!” “I feel quite dull today; I don’t know what’s wrong with me.” – The Text of the New Testament, Metzger and Ehrman, pp. 32

One Response to “Mr. Metzger and my Buddy Bart”

  1. Barbara A. Telleria Says:

    I used to do that in class all of the time, especially when I was not supposed to be talking. That was cool.


Leave a Reply

