Senior Year So Soon

August 2, 2006

The end of summer is nigh and my future is staring at me, though I can’t quite see it.

A glimpse I have gotten, though, is my tentative senior year schedule. Behold.

1) Health

2) AP Music Theory

3) AP Government and Macroeconomics

4) AP English Literature

5) Philosophy

6) Trigonometry

7) Band

I had a scheduling conflict with band and trig (both are seven period), so I dropped Physics which I had sixth period. I suppose I’m sad about dropping Physics, but I’m also alleviated ’cause I don’t have to worry about a science fair project. I’ll be taking trigonometry over Florida Virtual School (which is what I was going to do with Physics). This way I can have all four years of band, which I enjoy.

I’m not the only one having these kinds of scheduling conflicts, either. Most band students are struggling. Some will have to forfeit AP English or Anatomy if they wish to remain in band, and these are some of our important players: first flute and tuba. We’ll see what decisions they make, but it saddens me to think of our band ranks depleting.

I also begin filling out my University of North Carolina online application today. I left a lot blank. I’m hoping to give my teacher and my counselor the forms I wish for them to fill out. I figure that getting in my application very early gives me the greatest chance of getting accepted.

Of course, the problem with early registration is that if you get accepted, you’ve sort of made a commitment to attend. And where am I going to find 30,000 dollars?

4 Responses to “Senior Year So Soon”

  1. Kyle Says:

    Silly boy. Don’t you know that universities and colleges have entire departments called “financial aid”?

  2. Rob Says:

    Of course I know about all that, Kyle! I was just hoping my faithful readers would begin sending checks weekly for my college fund. 😉

  3. Barbara A. Telleria Says:

    Fat chance.

  4. Barbara A. Telleria Says:

    I was saddened when I discovered that I would not be taking French III for my Senior Year. I looked forward to it all summer long, and was told that the class was not going to be offered that year due to “not many people are going to take the class.” I considered that to be stupid since, the year before, there was only one student in French III. Well, I least I now have collegiate French I to look forward to.


Leave a Reply

