And So It Begins!

August 14, 2006

Today was my first day of senior year. Faithfully following our school tradition, the seniors all parked nearby the school and then filed in together in a parade-like fashion with an obnoxious amount of honking. It was truly fun.

I enjoyed all my classes, and I was happy to turn in my Crime and Punishment report for AP Lit and Comp (which I finished sometime around one in the morning the night before 🙂 ).

AP Music Theory will be fun already, as far as I can tell. With only eight students, I hope we progress quickly through the book and we are all prepared by the end of the year to do well on the AP Exam. After doing some AP Theory homework, I am already feeling that urge to pick up the piano again.  I played a bit last year, and then dropped it, never even getting to the stage of buying a piano. The teacher did tell me that I was talented, however, but I’m not sure if that’s typical teacher speech.

Philosophy class seems that it will be not really a study of philosophers and their work, but rather a Bible class. Not that there’s anything wrong with Bible, but I would’ve liked a true philosophy class. We do dabble a bit into other worldviews when we write our “paper” before the end of the semester, but I figure that’s as much as we’ll touch. Much of the course is spent in a book called “Changed into His Image”, and another entitled “The Evolution of a Creationist.”

I am going to try to schedule Prayer Group for Thursdays this year. I was involved in it ever since I came to faith in Christ (before, actually), and this year I will be heading it up. It’s nice to have something to which I can apply my ideas and direction. Hopefully the Lord will bless.

With the work load I am expecting, I don’t know how often I’ll be here, but I’ll do my best to post. I hope you all are blessed!

4 Responses to “And So It Begins!”

  1. Kyle Says:

    Peace be with you, man.

  2. Andy Says:

    I love music theory. I hope you get to write a piece in your class. I took a theory class my senior year of high school, and that was our final project.

  3. Barbara A. Telleria Says:

    And, yes, you are correct to assume that Philosophy will just be another bible class. Do not expect too much dabbling with other world theories.

  4. Lacey Says:

    Hey Robby! In keeping with my promise to you, here I am. I find your blog enlightening and stimulating, to say the least. Just want you to know that I’m praying for you and wish you the very best in your senior year of high school.


Leave a Reply

