Sadness

September 11, 2006

I’m sure everyone has been inundated with countless images and commentary on the terrorist attacks that occured five years ago. Yesterday I watched a powerpoint on it in church, and I saw the same one again today in school chapel. Tonight on the news the spanish station was broadcasting the same sort of thing.

On the news I saw one thing that just broke my heart. A woman, standing at the podium thing where numerous people said the names of their lost loved ones, began to say something and then just got so emotional. In her spanish accent she said “I love you”, and just began kissing the picture of her husband (I believe) whom she had lost. It makes me want to cry.

I wonder what it is like for those Christians who are mourning their lost ones who were believers. Paul tells us that we should not mourn as the world does, but it seems like such a thing would be difficult in situations such as these when the ones whom you love are torn from you so quickly and suddenly.

May God bless and comfort the families of those who lost loved ones.

3 Responses to “Sadness”


  1. When Paul speaks of not mourning as the world does, he does not mean that mourning as the world does, he does not mean that mourning and sorrow is of itself bad, but rather has in mind the sort of lamentation seen in a people who scribble inscriptions like “No hope” and “I was not, I was, I am not” on their tombstones. Just as Yeshua Christ was in his perfect humanity was the Man of Sorrows, so it is our duty to mourn over the places in our world where there is sorrow and injustice. Indeed, this realization was instrumental in my finally deciding to become a Goth, and later to start up Seraphim Radio ( http://www.shoutcast.com/directory/?s=seraphim+radio ) to give those who are in pain a place to find its expression and to recieve the hope and solace in our Lord Yeshua Christ. Rob, I’d like you to always remember the civilian casualties of all war, whether the war of the terrorist or the war of the nation state, a lot like the video to Night Riders by Stromkern http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YL-pbcBuAZ4.

  2. Byron Says:

    I agree with ghostonthenet – I don’t think Paul says “do not grieve, like those who have no hope” but “do not grieve like those who have no hope”. A huge difference. It is not the mere fact of grieve, but the kind or manner of grief. It is grief filled with hope. Indeed, it is mark of being truly spiritual that you groan over a world in bondage to decay, because this is what the Spirit does.

    And I also agree that our grief is not just for those like us, but for all those who suffer as a result of creation’s frustration.


Leave a Reply

