I want to go to Asbury

November 12, 2006

Ben Witheringon has been on fire these past few days, so I recommend you go read at least the three latest posts.

And you should read this too: “‘If you read about the life of Isaac (or any other OT person, really), you don’t read anything like ‘and at age 9, Isaac asked YHWH into his heart.'”

4 Responses to “I want to go to Asbury”

  1. Senora Happy Says:

    I’m not fond of that phrase (asking Jesus into one’s heart) either. I’m wondering, though, if a lack of a conversion experience at a young age by one of the Jewish patriarchs invalidates contemporary experiences, or perhaps I’ve read too much into your including such a quotation today.
    Asbury, huh? I pegged you more as a Presbyterian type.

  2. Andy Says:

    See, Rob? You’re a Calvinist in the rough. 😉

  3. Matt Says:

    Calvinist… Bah!

  4. Rob Says:

    I don’t know if I’d fall in either of the two categories. The title of the post was more of a “Wow I think Ben Witherington is awesome” kind of thing than anything else.

    And I’m critiquing the idea that a spectacular conversion experience is the norm in a life of faith. Of course it has happened to some, but there are others who have always grown up believing, and I don’t see a reason to doubt their sincerity in the faith because they didn’t read the romans road one day or whatever. They are taught from childhood that they are sinners, that Christ came to forgave sin, and that He is Lord, and they believe. They simply believe.

    And the expression “Ask Jesus into your heart” just bothers me anyway. But that’s the post in a nutshell larger than the actual post itself. How about that. =D


Leave a Reply

